Seattle Seahawks: The Ultimate Guide

The Seattle Seahawks are a professional football team based in Seattle, Washington. The team plays its home games at Lumen Field, which has a capacity of 68,740. The stadium was previously known as CenturyLink Field and Qwest Field. The Seahawks are part of the National Football Conference (NFC) West division in the National Football League (NFL).

The Seattle Seahawks were founded in 1974 as an expansion team in the NFL. The team played its first season in the NFC West division and has remained in that division ever since. The team has not undergone any name changes or significant location changes in its history.

The Seahawks logo was first introduced in 1976 and has undergone several changes over the years. The logo features a stylized head of a hawk with a forward-facing eye and sharp beak. It was designed to represent the strength and tenacity of the Seattle Seahawks on the football field.


The Seattle Seahawks have several notable rivalries in the NFL, including the San Francisco 49ers and the Arizona Cardinals. The rivalry with the 49ers dates back to the 1980s when both teams were dominant in the NFC West division. The rivalry with the Cardinals has intensified in recent years, as both teams have been competitive in the NFC West.

Franchise Owners

The Seattle Seahawks have had several owners throughout their history. The current owner of the team is Jody Allen, who took over after her brother, Paul Allen, passed away in 2018. Paul Allen purchased the team in 1997, and under his ownership, the team experienced much success, including their first Super Bowl win in 2014. Prior to Allen, the team was owned by Ken Behring, who owned the team from 1988 to 1996. Behring was responsible for moving the team from the Kingdome to the newly built Husky Stadium in 2000.

Hall of Fame Players

The Seattle Seahawks have had several players inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Some of the most notable Hall of Fame players include:

Steve Largent

Wide Receiver (1976-1989)

Largent played his entire career with the Seahawks and was one of the most productive wide receivers in NFL history. He was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1995.

Cortez Kennedy

Defensive Tackle (1990-2000)

Kennedy was a dominant force on the defensive line and was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2012.

Walter Jones

Offensive Tackle (1997-2008)

Jones was one of the best offensive linemen in NFL history and was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2014.

Kenny Easley

Safety (1981-1987)

Easley was a hard-hitting safety and was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2017.

All-Time Best Coaches

Mike Holmgren is a Seahawks legend
Mike Holmgren is a Seahawks legend

The Seattle Seahawks have had several successful coaches throughout their history. Some of the most notable coaches include:

  • Chuck Knox (1983-1991): Knox led the Seahawks to their first playoff appearance in 1983 and was named Coach of the Year that season. He led the team to four playoff appearances during his tenure.
  • Mike Holmgren (1999-2008): Holmgren led the Seahawks to their first Super Bowl appearance in 2005 and won the NFC Championship that season. He was named Coach of the Year twice during his tenure.
  • Pete Carroll (2010-present): Carroll has led the Seahawks to two Super Bowl appearances, winning Super Bowl XLVIII in 2014. He has also led the team to seven playoff appearances in his first 11 seasons with the team.

Best All-Time Season Record

The Seattle Seahawks’ best all-time season record was in 2013, when they finished the regular season with a 13-3 record. Led by quarterback Russell Wilson, the Seahawks dominated throughout the playoffs, culminating in a decisive 43-8 victory over the Denver Broncos in Super Bowl XLVIII.

Super Bowl Wins

The Seahawks have won one Super Bowl championship in their history. They achieved this feat in 2013 by defeating the Denver Broncos 43-8 in Super Bowl XLVIII, held at MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey.

Pre-Merger Championship Wins

The Seattle Seahawks have not won any pre-merger championships.

Conference Titles

The Seahawks have won three conference championships in their history. They won their first NFC championship in 2005, defeating the Carolina Panthers 34-14 in the NFC Championship Game. They went on to lose to the Pittsburgh Steelers in Super Bowl XL. The Seahawks won back-to-back NFC championships in 2013 and 2014, culminating in a victory over the Denver Broncos in Super Bowl XLVIII and a heartbreaking loss to the New England Patriots in Super Bowl XLIX.

Division Titles

The Seattle Seahawks have won 11 division titles in their franchise history. From 1976 to 2001, they were a member of the AFC West and won the division four times (1988, 1999, 2004, and 2005). Since 2002, they have been a member of the NFC West and have won the division seven times (2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2010, 2013, and 2014).

Classic Jerseys

  1. Blue and Silver (1976-2001): The original Seahawks jersey featured a blue and silver color scheme with a unique design that included a blue helmet with a silver stripe and a silver logo. This jersey is considered a classic among fans due to its distinct design and historical significance.

  2. Blue and Green (2002-Present): When the Seahawks moved to the NFC West in 2002, they introduced a new jersey design featuring a blue and green color scheme. This design has become synonymous with the team’s recent success, including their Super Bowl victory in 2014.

  3. White and Blue (1985-1996): This jersey design was worn during some of the team’s most successful seasons, including their appearance in Super Bowl XL in 2006. The white jersey featured blue stripes and the team’s logo on the sleeves, while the blue pants featured white stripes. This classic look is still popular among fans today.

Previous Post
Kobe Bryant Rookie Cards

Top 10 Most Valuable Kobe Bryant Rookie Cards

Next Post
Kylian mbappe cleats

Kylian Mbappe Cleats (Season by Season Guide)

Related Posts