Ultimate Guide to the Cleveland Browns

Cleveland Browns are a professional American Football team from Cleveland, Ohio. Cleveland Browns compete in the NFL (National Football League) as a member club of the AFC (American Football Conference) North Division.

The team is named after the Original Coach and Co-Founder, Paul Brown. Brown and the famous businessman Arthur B. Mcbride founded Cleveland Browns in 1944 as the constituent of the AAFC (All-American Football Conference). The franchise played its first official game in 1946 and four seasons until AAFC ceased in 1949; However, Cleveland Browns dominated and won the championships in all four seasons.

After the conclusion of AAFC, Cleveland Browns joined the NFL (National Football League) in 1950 and won the championship in their first-ever season.

Cleveland Browns Stadium

Credit: Jon Ridinger CC BY SA 4.0 (Logo Added)

FirstEnergy Stadium is the home venue of the Cleveland Browns and is situated in the city of Cleveland. From 1946 to 1995, Cleveland Stadium operated as the home ground of the Cleveland Browns, a multipurpose stadium.

FirstEnergy Stadium opened in 1999, and since then, it has been the home venue of the Cleveland Browns. The maximum capacity of the FirstEnergy Stadium is 67,431.

The Browns have a unique and simple logo and are the only NFL team without a logo on the helmet. The logoless helmet became the Cleveland Browns’ official logo in 1970 and still serves as the official logo of the Browns.

Cleveland Browns have had a few logo transformations over the years. From the establishment of the franchise to the late 1960s, “Brownie Elf” or “Brown B” was the official logo of the Cleveland Browns until it was scrapped for being too childish.

A helmet replaced the prior logo in 1970; over the years, it has had a few minor changes, but the logo is still the same in 2022. The helmet is an austere burnt orange with black and white stripes at the top.


Browns-Steelers Rivalry:

Cleveland Browns vs. Pittsburgh Steelers is the oldest AFC rivalry and fifth oldest rivalry in the NFL. The rivalry started in 1950. From 1950 to 1954, the Cleveland Browns dominated Pittsburgh Steelers; however, the Steelers currently lead the overall series 79-62-1.

The Browns-Steelers Rivalry is popularly known as Turnpike Rivalry and is a natural rivalry due to the commonalities and relations between the cities.

Browns-Bengals Rivalry:

Browns-Bengals rivalry is an NFL rivalry between Cleveland Browns and Cincinnati Bengals, and this rivalry is often dubbed the “Battle Of Ohio” by the media and the fans. Both teams are associates of the AFC North Division.

Paul Brown is also the founder of the Cincinnati Bengals, which he founded in 1968, soon after being fired from the Cleveland Browns, and a new rivalry in NFL was born.

Franchise Owners

Jimmy Haslam is the current owner of the Cleveland Browns alongside Dee Haslam
Jimmy Haslam is the current owner of the Cleveland Browns alongside Dee Haslam

Here is the list of all franchise owners of the Cleveland Browns, current and previous ones.

Arthur McBride1946-1952
David Jones1953-1960
Art Modell1961-1995
Al Lerner1999-2001
Randy Lerner2002-2011
Jimmy Haslam III and Dee Haslam2012-Present

Ring Of Honor Players

Jim Brown, Fullback (FB)

Played: 1957-1966

Inducted: 2010

Jim Brown is a legend of the game
Jim Brown is a legend of the game

Jim Brown is one of the greatest running backs of all time and is considered an all-time great of the NFL. Brown is a three-time AP NFL Most Valuable Player winner and won an NFL Championship with the Cleveland Browns in 1964.

Jim Brown finished his career with Cleveland Browns as the franchise’s all-time leader in rushing yards (12,312 yards) and rushing touchdowns (106 TDs)

Jim Brown was also added to the “Pro Football Hall Of Fame” in 1971.

Otto Everett Graham Jr, QuarterBack (QB)

Played: 1946-1955

Inducted: 2010

Otto Graham was one of the most successful Browns Quarterbacks of all time
Otto Graham was one of the most successful Browns Quarterbacks of all time

Otto Graham played as a Quarterback for Cleveland Browns from 1946-1955. Graham won three NFL Championships with Cleveland Browns (1950, 1954, and 1955), four AAFC Championships, and three NFL MVPs.

In 1965, Graham was inducted into the “Pro Football Hall Of Fame”.

Other Cleveland Browns Ring Of Honor players include:

Joe DeLamielleure*OG1980-19842010
Len Ford*DE1950-19572010
Frank Gataski*C1946-19562010
Lou Groza*OT K1946-1959

Gene Hickerson*OG1958-19732010
Leroy Kelly*RB1964-19732010
Dante Lavelli*WR1946-19562010
Mike McCormack*OT1954-19622010
Bobby Mitchell*WR,RB,HB1958-19612010
Marion Motley*FB1946-19532010
Ozzie Newsome*TE1978-19902010
Paul Warfield*WR1964-19772010
Bill Willis*T,OG1946-19532010
Joe ThomasOT2007-20172018
Clay MatthewsLB1978-19932019
Mac Speedie*WR1946-19522021

*Players are also in the Pro Football Hall Of Fame.

All-Time Best Coaches

Paul Brown managed to secure 3 NFL Championships
Paul Brown managed to secure 3 NFL Championships

Paul Brown

Paul Brown is undoubtedly the greatest coach in the Cleveland Browns’ history. Brown led the team to the championship in all the editions of AAFC and won 3 NFL Titles as a coach. Paul Brown’s postseason record as head coach is 9-5.

Blanton Collier

Blanton Collier took up the charge as head coach of the Cleveland Browns after Paul Brown was fired in 1963 and guided the team to glory in 1964, which was the last time, Cleveland Browns won the NFL Championship. Blanton has a remarkable record of 76-34-2 as the head coach of the Cleveland Browns and was the team’s head coach from 1963-1970.

Best All-Time Season Record

Cleveland Browns had their best NFL season record (12-2) in 1950.



Cleveland browns are one of the four teams to have never appeared in the Super Bowl, along with the Detroit Lions, Houston Texans, and Jacksonville Jaguars.

Division Titles

Cleveland Browns have won 12 Division Titles in their history, three AAFC Western (1946,1947, and 1948), three NFL Century (1967, 1968, and 1969), and six AFC Central titles ( 1971, 1980, 1985, 1986, 1987, and 1989 ).

Conference Championships

Cleveland Browns have won 11 Conference Championships, three NFL American ( 1950, 1951, and 1952), and 8 NFL Eastern titles ( 1953, 1954, 1955, 1957, 1964, 1965, 1968, 1969 ).

Pre-Merger Championship Wins

Cleveland Browns won 8 championships in the pre-merger era, 4 AAFC Championships (1946, 1947, 1948, 1949), and 4 NFL Championships (1950, 1954, 1955, and 1964).

Cleveland Browns are currently struggling badly. The team which dominated the AAFC and NFL has yet to be able to win a single championship post-merger.

Previous Post
tallest soccer players

Top 10 Tallest Soccer Players of All Time

Next Post
rike nooitgedagt

Rike Nooitgedagt, Wife of Virgil Van Dijk

Related Posts